Prom 9: Beethoven

Fidelio is Beethoven’s only opera. For some reason I was not expecting to be exposed to an opera during this Prom series, so this has come as a pleasant surprise.

Having been exposed to Beethoven in the Proms already, I didn’t feel intimidated at all. I was already familiar with his formality and felt that this complemented such a work. The German language allowed for clean intonation and precise consonants. There was nice energy and movement and I couldn’t help think that the language aided this.

The voice work was obviously technical and must have been such a physical workout. This is a marathon piece for those who are expected to perform and physical fitness and endurance is probably a quality that is needed when undertaking such a piece of music.

This is the first time I’ve listened to an opera in its entirety and I have to say that I really enjoyed it. It was well paced and even though I didn’t understand the German, I felt the story developing and this shows to me how effective this type of communication is.

 

